Portland transition: geographic districts

The map of the City of Portland's four geographic districts. The western district, district 4, is in purple. The district covering southeast, district 3, is in yellow. East Portland, district 1, is in green. North Portland, district 2, is in blue.
Portland voters will elect three city councilors to represent each of four new geographic districts, expanding the city council to a total of 12 people.

June 2024 Update

Looking to learn more about districts and ranked-choice voting? Go to Portland.Gov/Vote2024.

For information on voting in districts or to find your district, go to Portland.Gov/Districts.

August 2023 Update

On August 21, 2023, the Independent District Commission unanimously adopted a District Plan. The District Plan includes a map and a description of the districts. Learn more on the Independent District Commission's page

View the map in more detail on DistrictR. To view neighborhood boundaries and the district numbers, click on the tab labeled "data layers" and check the boxes for the overlays you'd like to see. 

Look up your district by looking up your address on PortlandMaps.com.

Remote Media URL

Portland is establishing geographic districts for its city council – one of three major changes underway for the city’s election system and form of government.

Currently, all four of Portland’s city commissioners are elected “at-large” across the city, meaning a candidate for any seat can live anywhere in Portland. Under the new system, voters will select three candidates from each of four districts, expanding the city council to 12 people. The mayor and auditor will still be elected at-large.

How Geographic Districts Work

After geographic districts are established, each Portland voter can help elect three city councilors to represent their part of the city. City Council members will serve terms of four years.

This change is closely connected with Portland’s transition to ranked-choice voting.

Creating Geographic Districts

Proposed Geographic Districts

An Independent District Commission will create four geographic districts that meet voter-approved criteria:

  • Contiguous, compact, use existing geographic or political boundaries
  • Connected by transportation links
  • Equal population
  • Don’t divide communities of common interest
  • Don’t favor any political party or candidate
  • Don’t dilute voting strength of any language or ethnic minority group

Throughout the process, community members will be invited to learn about the Commission’s work and share their opinions. 


The Independent District Commission was chosen in January 2023 (you can see a full list of members on our Meet Your Commissioners page here) and is scheduled to adopt districts by September 2023. The first election using the new districts will take place in November 2024. There will be a series of work sessions, meetings with opportunity for public comment, and public hearings leading up to September and will accomplish the following:

  • February 2023: First meeting of IDC, establish bylaws, review district plan criteria
  • March 2023: Release plan on district criteria and hold public hearing 
  • April 2023: Deliberate based on public input and vote on district plan criteria
  • May 2023: Draft district maps created, notice of public hearings released
  • June 2023: Draft District Plan released
  • July 2023: 8 Public hearings held
  • August 2023: Deliberate based on public hearings and final vote on district plan

Check the IDC events page for details on meeting times and dates, as well as for recordings of past meetings after they happen.

Get Involved

The City of Portland is committed to transparency and accountability. Stay tuned for more information about the transition.