2021 FORM METBIT - 20S @ Metro

METRO SUPPORTIVE HOUSING SERVICES
BUSINESS INCOME TAX
RETURN FOR S-CORPORATIONS

DUE DATE: 15th day of 4th month after taxable year end
(Calendar Year Filers: 4/18/2022)
File online at Pro.Portland.gov

TAX YEAR
From: to OFFICIAL USE ONLY
ACCOUNT # FEIN NAICS
SHB-
NAME
MAILING ADDRESS [ Check if changed CITY STATE/PROV| ZIP CODE
O INITIAL RETURN 0 FINAL RETURN O AMENDED RETURN O EXTENSION FILED
(attach explanation)

PART | - BUSINESS INCOME
Attach required Federal and Oregon tax pages. See instructions.

S O e |10 = T VAR TaToto o a TN o (o1 ISR 1
2. Add-back of deductions NOt @llOWEd ............couiiiiiiiiiiiii e 2 0

3. Schedule K (lines 2-12) and Oregon modifications on Form 20-S ..........cccccoeeeiiiiiiiieeeiiiee s 3
4. Subject net income (sum of line 1 through liN€ 3) ......cooiiiiiiiiii e 4 0

PART Il - METRO BUSINESS INCOME TAX
58. MELrO grOSS iNCOIME ...uiuiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie s ssssssssssnnsnnnen 5a 0
L] o I o] =1 I | (o =T To o] o o = PO URPP PP 5b 0
5c. Apportionment percentage (line 5a + 5b, cannot be more than 1.0) ..., 5¢ 0.00000000
6. Metro apportioned netincome (liN€ 4 X liNE€ BC) ....vvviriiiiiiiiiiiii e 6 0
7. Net operating loss deduction (max 75% of IN€ 6) ........ccoeiiiriiiiieiiiie e 7 0
8. Income subject to tax (lin€ 6 MINUS lINE 7) .....eeiiiiiiiiiiiiie e g 0
9. Metro Business Income tax (line 8 x 1%) MINIMUM $100...........cccceriereirienene e 9 0
LT o (=T oF= 1Y 41T o PP 10 0
0. PENAIY «.eoeeeeeeeeeeee e eeeeeeeee e eeeese e s et ee e 11 0
L 101 (=TT (SRS SR 12 0
13. Balance due or (OVErPAYMENL) .....ccciiuiiieiiiee et e e e e et e e et e e s neeeeesneeeeeaneeeeenneas 13 0

PART Il - TAX DUE / REFUND
14. If the amount on line 13 is negative, this is the amount you overpaid ...........cccccovciiiiiiinennne 14 0

Please enter the amount from line 14 you want:
a. Refunded to you (for direct deposit of your refund, file your tax return online at Pro.Portland.gov) ........ 14a 0
b. Applied to your 2022 Supportive Housing Services taxX ..........ccocceiviiiiiiiiieiniieeeesieeeee 14b 0

15. If the amount on line 13 is positive, this is the amount you owe ............ccccoeiiiiiiiiiineenn. 15 0
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PART IV - SIGNATURE

The undersigned declares that the information given on this report is true. The undersigned is authorized to act as a representative of

the filer. Filers of incomplete returns may be subject to civil penalties of up to $500.

Signature of Taxfiler

Date

Taxfiler Email

Taxfiler Phone Number ( )

Signature of Preparer

Date

Preparer’s Name

Preparer Phone Number ( )

MAILING INSTRUCTIONS

If a payment is included, send to:
Revenue Division - Metro SHS Tax
PO Box 9250
Portland, OR 97207-9250

Make check payable to Metro SHS Tax

Phone (503) 823-5157
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If a payment is not included, send to:
Processing - Metro SHS Tax
111 SW Columbia St., Suite 600
Portland, OR 97201-5840

FAX (503) 823-5192 TDD (503) 823-6868



METRO SUPPORTIVE HOUSING SERVICES
BUSINESS INCOME TAX

2021 FORM METBIT-20S
INSTRUCTIONS FOR S-CORPORATIONS

GENERAL INFORMATION

File and Pay Online and Manage your Business Tax
Accounts at Pro.Portland.gov. Portland Revenue Online
(PRO) allows you to:

o Register your business tax accounts

e Update your business account information

e File a Metro business tax return

e Make payments

e Upload supporting tax pages and documents

¢ View correspondence mailed to you

e Provide Third-Party Access to your tax preparer

For more information and to create your account, visit
Pro.Portland.gov.

Businesses Required to File a Metro Supportive
Housing Services Tax Return. Businesses doing business
in or that have income from within the Metro District
jurisdiction who have over $5 million in gross receipts from
both within and without the Metro’s jurisdiction are required
to pay a 1% tax on net business income that is apportioned
to the jurisdiction. To determine if an address is located
within the Metro tax jurisdiction, utilize the tool available at
www.oregonmetro.gov/about-metro/metro-council/find-
your-councilor.

Filing Deadline. The filing deadline for this return is
Monday, April 18, 2022. Since the 2021 Form METBIT-20S
relies on information reported on the federal and/or Oregon
tax return, the due date for the 2021 Form METBIT-20S will
be changed when there is a change to the federal or State
of Oregon due dates.

Extensions. The Revenue Division does not generally
allow an extension of time to pay the tax, even if the IRS
allows an extension. The tax balance is due on the original
return due date. The submission of an extension payment
by the original return due date provides an automatic six-
month filing extension. If there is not a tax balance due but
you would like to file an extension, your federal extension
will serve as your Metro extension and a separate Metro
extension will not need to be submitted. When filing your
return on the extended due date, check the “Extension
Filed” box on the return. If no extension payment was made,
please attach a copy of your federal extension with your
return.
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Amended Returns. To amend your 2021 Form METBIT-
208, use the form for the tax year being amended and check
the “Amended Return” box. If the address for the year you
are amending has changed, use your current mailing
address and check the box indicating the change.

Fill in all amounts on your amended return, even if they are
the same as originally filed. If you are amending to make a
change to additions, subtractions, or credits, include detail
of all items and amounts as well as any carryovers.

If you change taxable income by filing an amended federal
or Oregon income tax return, you must file an amended
2021 Form METBIT-20S within 60 days of when the
amended federal or Oregon income tax return was filed.
Include a copy of your amended federal or Oregon income
tax return and explain the adjustments made.

Do not amend your 2021 Form METBIT-20S if you amend
the federal return to carry a net operating loss back to prior
years. Metro only allows tax entities to carry net operating
losses forward. Additionally, net operating losses for Metro
Business Income Tax are only generated from the Metro
Business Income Tax return, not from your IRS or Oregon
income tax return.

On the prepayments line of your amended 2021 Form
METBIT-20S, enter the net tax as reflected on the original
return or as previously adjusted. Do not include any penalty
or interest portions of payments already made.

Apportionment. Gross income includes all business
income including, but not limited to, gross receipts, service
income, interest, dividends, income from contractual
agreements, gross rents, and gains on sale of business
property. Income may be apportioned only if there is regular
business income outside of Metro. Services performed
outside of Metro may be apportioned based upon the
percentage of performance outside the applicable
jurisdiction. Sales of tangible personal property may be
apportioned only if a business has payroll or property
outside the jurisdictions.

Required Supporting Federal Tax Pages. Be sure to
include copies of the following federal tax pages and any
associated statements when submitting your return:

e Form 1120-S, pages 1-4
e Form 1125-E

e Form 8825

e Form 4797

PENALTIES AND INTEREST

You may be subject to penalties for underpaying your
estimated tax, filing a late 2021 Form METBIT-20S, and/or
paying your income tax liability after the original due date of
the return. Although the Revenue Division assesses a late
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penalty for both failing to file a 2021 Form METBIT-20S by
the due date and failing to pay the tax by the original due
date of the return, only one of these late penalties will be
applied, even if there is a failure of both requirements. In
these cases, only the late filing penalty is applied.

UNDERPAYMENT PENALTY

You may be subject to a penalty for underpaying your
estimated tax if, by the original due date of the return, timely
prepayments are not made which are either:

e Atleast 90% of the total tax balance due, or

e 100% of the prior year's tax liability paid by the

original due date.

If you did not satisfy either requirement, you will be charged
an underpayment penalty of 5% of the unpaid tax, but not
less than $5.00.

Late Filing Penalty
If you do not file your 2021 Form METBIT-20S by the
original due date, file an extension with the Revenue
Division by the original due date, or include a copy of your
federal extension with your return when you file by the
extended due date, the following penalties will be applied:
e 5% of the amount of the total tax liability if the failure
to file is for a period less than four months;
¢ An additional penalty of 20% of the total tax liability
if the failure to file is for a period of four months or
more; and
¢ Anadditional penalty of 100% of the total tax liability
of all tax years if the failure to file is for three or more
consecutive tax years.
No late filing penalty is due if a timely extension is filed with
the Revenue Division and a 2021 Form METBIT-20S is filed
by the extended due date, or a copy of the federal extension
is included with the return and the ‘Extension Filed’ box is
checked.

LATE PAYMENT PENALTY

Your 2021 income tax must be paid by April 18, 2022, even
if you requested an extension to file your Business Income
Tax Return. If you do not pay your tax by the original due
date, the following penalties will be applied:

e 5% of the amount of the total tax liability if the failure
to pay is for a period less than four months;

e An additional penalty of 20% of the total tax liability
if the failure to pay is for a period of four months or
more; and

¢ Anadditional penalty of 100% of the total tax liability
of all tax years if the failure to pay is for three or
more consecutive tax years.
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INTEREST CALCULATION

Interest is calculated at 10% per annum (.00833 multiplied
by the number of months). Calculate your interest from the
original due date to the 15th day of the month following the
date of the payment.

QUARTERLY UNDERPAYMENT INTEREST

Quarterly underpayment interest will be due if estimated
payments were required and were underpaid. Estimated
payments can be made through quarterly estimated
payments, employer-provided withholding from a taxfiler's
wages, or a combination of both. Calculate your quarterly
underpayment interest at a rate of 10% per annum from the
due date of each quarterly estimated payment to the original
due date of the tax return to which the estimated payments
apply. The amount of underpayment is determined by
comparing the 90% of the current total tax liability amount
to quarterly estimated payments made prior to the original
due date of the tax return.

There is no interest on underpayment of quarterly estimated
payments if:

e The total tax liability of the prior tax year was less
than $1,000;

e An amount equal to at least 90% of the total tax
liability for the current tax year was paid in
accordance with Section 7.05.190; or

e Anamount equal to at least 100% of the prior year's
total tax liability was paid in accordance with
Section 7.05.190.

TAX RETURN FILING INSTRUCTIONS

Rounding. Round off cents to whole dollars on your return
and schedules. To round, drop amounts under 50 cents and
increase amounts from 50 to 99 cents to the next dollar. For
example, $1.39 becomes $1 and $2.50 becomes $3. If two
or more amounts must be added to figure the amount to
enter on a line, include cents when adding the amounts and
round off only the total

GENERAL RETURN INFORMATION

Tax Year. Enter the beginning and ending dates of your tax
year. For calendar year filers, this would be 1/1/21 to
12/31/21.

Account #. If you have already registered for an account
and know your account number, enter your full Metro Tax
Account number beginning with SHB followed by ten digits.
This information can be found on letters the Revenue
Division has mailed to you related to your Metro business
tax account. If you do not know your number, leave field
blank.



FEIN. Enter the Federal Employer Identification Number
(FEIN) of the S corporation.

NAICS. Enter the NAICS (North American
Classification System) code for your business.

Industry

Name. Enter the legal name of the S corporation.

Mailing Address. Enter your current mailing address. If the
address for the year you are filing has changed, check the
box indicating the change.

Name of Parent Corporation, if Applicable. If you file
under a different entity for the Oregon Department of
Revenue than the IRS, enter the name of the parent
company here.

Initial Return Box. Check this box if this is the first Metro
Business Income Tax return filed by this entity.

Final Return Box. Check this box if this is your final return.
Attach an explanation.

Amended Return Box. Check this box if you are filing an
amended return and have already submitted an original
return. You must include a copy of your original return with
your amended return. If you also filed amended federal and
state returns, please include a copy (see “Amended
Returns” under “General Information” for additional
information).

Extension Filed Box. Check this box If you have filed a
federal or state extension, or if you submitted an extension
payment by the original due date of the return. Include
required copies of federal extension as applicable (see
“Extensions” under “General Information” for additional
information).

PART | - BUSINESS INCOME

Line 1. Ordinary Income or (Loss). Ordinary income is
income before distribution to shareholders. Enter the
amount from federal Form 1120-S, line 21.

Line 2. Add-Back of Deductions Not Allowed. In
determining income, no deduction is allowed for the
following: taxes based on or measured by net income, the
federal built-in gains tax, or the City of Portland Clean
Energy Surcharge. If amounts for these items have been
deducted to arrive at the net income reported on line 1, the
amounts must be added back on line 2.

Line 3. Schedule K (lines 2 -12) and Oregon
Modifications on Form 20-S. Enter the total of the
amounts from Schedule K lines 2 through 12. Add or
subtract any Oregon modifications related to business
income. Subtract any other pass-through income (or add
any loss) from entities already taxed by Metro (attach a
statement).
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Line 4. Subject Net Income. Enter the sum of line 1, line
2, and line 3.

PART Il - METRO BUSINESS INCOME TAX

Line 5a. Metro Gross Income. Metro gross income
includes income from all business activity within Metro (see
Apportionment instructions above).

Line 5b. Total Gross Income. Total gross income includes
income from all business activity everywhere, as reported
on your federal Form 1120-S.

Line 5c. Apportionment Percentage. Line 5a divided by
line 5b. Round to 6 decimal places. This line cannot be more
than 1.0.

Line 6. Metro Apportioned Net Income. Enter the result
of Subject Net Income (line 4) multiplied by the
Apportionment Percentage (line 5c).

Line 7. Net Operating Loss Deduction. Enter your net
operating loss (NOL) from previous years as a negative
number here. NOLs are allowed only if reported on prior
Metro Business Income Tax returns. This line cannot be
greater than 75% of line 6. Any unused NOL may only be
carried forward for five years.

Line 8. Income Subject to Tax. Enter Metro Apportioned
Net Income (line 6) minus your Net Operating Loss
Deduction (line 7).

Line 9. Metro Business Income Tax. Enter your Income
Subject to Tax (line 8) multiplied by the 1.0% Metro
Business Tax. The minimum tax due is $100. If the amount
of line 8 multiplied by .01 is less than $100, enter $100.

Line 10. Prepayments. Enter the total amount of
prepayments as a negative number. Include all quarterly
estimated payments, extension payments, and any credits
carried forward from prior years.

Line 11. Penalty. Enter all late and/or underpayment
penalties that apply, if known. Leave blank if unknown or not
applicable. If additional penalty is owed but was not
calculated at the time of return submission, you will receive
a bill by mail.

Line 12. Interest. Enter any quarterly underpayment
interest and/or interest due on taxes not paid by their due
dates, if known. Leave blank if unknown or not applicable.
If additional interest is owed but was not calculated at the
time of return submission, you will receive a bill by mail.

Line 13. Balance Due or (Overpayment). Add line 9, line
10, line 11, and line 12 to determine if a balance due or an
overpayment exists for your Metro business income tax.
You may send a check with your return. Make the check
payable to ‘Metro SHS Tax'. For fastest payment



processing, pay online by logging into your PRO account at
Pro.Portland.gov.

PART IIl - TAX DUE/REFUND

Line 14. Overpayment. If line 13 is negative, this is the
amount you have overpaid. If you have an overpayment,
you may choose to have the balance refunded to you or
credited forward to the next year. If no election is made, any
overpayment will be refunded to you.

Line 14a. Refund. Enter the amount of the overpayment
you would like refunded to you on line 14a. If you would like
direct deposit of your refund, you must file your return online
at Pro.Portland.gov. If your return is filed on paper, you will
receive your refund in the mail by check.

Line 14b. Credit Carryforward. Enter the amount of the
overpayment you would like to apply as an estimated
payment for tax year 2022 on line 14b.

Line 15. Amount Due. If line 13 is positive, a balance is
due. Pay by April 18, 2022 to avoid late payment penalties
and interest. You may pay by check or online at
Pro.Portland.gov. Make your check payable to ‘Metro SHS
Tax.’

PART IV — SIGNATURE

Signature. An authorized representative of the business
must sign and date the return and provide a contact email
address and phone number. By signing the return, you
acknowledge, under penalty of false swearing, that the
information on the return is true, correct, and complete.

Preparer Signature. Anyone who prepares, advises, or
assists in preparing personal income tax returns in
exchange for compensation of any kind must be licensed to
prepare Oregon returns and must sign the return.
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MAILING INSTRUCTIONS

Mail your completed return and all required supporting tax
pages in the same envelope.

e [fa PAYMENT is included with return:

Revenue Division — Metro SHS Tax
PO Box 9250
Portland OR 97207-9250

Make check payable to Metro SHS Tax

e If NO PAYMENT is included with return:

Processing — Metro SHS Tax
111 SW Columbia St, Suite 600
Portland, OR 97201-5840
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