On August 26, 2021, the United States Supreme Court struck down the Center for Disease Control’s (CDC) eviction moratorium. Landlords may now enforce eviction judgments for eviction for unpaid rent from July 2021 and onward.
Under Oregon law, deferred rent accumulated between April 2020 and June 2021 is not due until February 28, 2022. Any rent paid at this point may not be applied towards rent that was deferred under Oregon law.
In Oregon, renters are protected from an eviction for non-payment of rent if they have applied for rental assistance. In Multnomah County, this safe harbor provision lasts 90 days from when the renter provides proof of application to their landlord. The safe harbor provisions lasts 60 days for renters outside of Multnomah County.
To apply for rental assistance, renters can contact 211. A full list of partner organizations with rent relief funds is available at Multnomah County Emergency Rent Assistance on Portland.gov.