information
COVID-19 Safety, Recovery and Resilience

Face coverings are required in indoor public spaces and many outdoor spaces. State policy
Access City programs, people and projects helping Portland recover. Portland United

Volunteer. Play. Stay. Shop. Show the Rose City a little love. Here for Portland

Learn About the Charter Review Process & Meet Your Commissioners

Resource
On this page

Learn About the Charter Review Process

What is a City Charter?

A charter is a founding document of a City that establishes the governing system and structure.

Generally, Portland’s Charter defines the powers of the City as granted by the state, the municipal powers and organization of the City Council, the roles and responsibilities of the Mayor, City Commissioner, and the Auditor. It details the procedures for elections, initiatives, referendum and recall elections, campaign finance, and how vacancies are filled. It also provides a guide on how the City is managed, the way taxes are levied and bonds are issued, how the streets, parks, sewers and other infrastructure are managed and improved, the powers of the Prosper Portland, the powers of the Portland Police and  Fire Disability and Retirement Fund and how to amend the Charter.

What is the Charter Commission?

At least once every 10, years the City Council appoints 20 Portlanders to the Charter Commission to review the Charter and recommend amendments.

The Charter Commission is an independent body that sets its own scope of work. The City Council may request that the Charter Commission review specific sections of the Charter, but ultimately it is up to the Commission to decide what to address. In the past, charter review has considered larger questions of policy as well as operational issues embedded in the Charter.

Why is the Commission active now?

The Charter establishes that, at least every 10 years, a Charter Commission shall be appointed. The previous commission was appointed on December 15, 2010. To comply with the requirement, City Council appointed members to a new Charter Commission in December 2020. 

How were Charter Commission members selected?

Nearly 300 people responded to the City's call for Charter Commission applicants, answering questions about their interest, their experience and how they would approach the work. When selecting Commissioners, City Council officials looked for candidates with diverse perspectives who have experience championing community needs. 

If I am not on the Commission, how can I be involved?

Community education and engagement are essential to the success of charter review. The Commission is engaging the community in a conversation about the Charter. There will be plenty of opportunities for Portlanders to communicate their ideas about Charter reform. Please check out the Community Engagement section of the website to learn about the many ways you can get involved!

What is expected from Commission members?

Charter Commissioners are appointed for two-year terms.  Commissioners will work to engage the community in a conversation about Portland's Charter and how it can best serve the community. Commission members can expect to spend between five and 12 hours per month spread throughout meetings, research and outreach. At a minimum, Commissioners will participate in monthly meetings, read reports and other materials to prepare, and potentially attend smaller group or subcommittee meetings.

What if the Charter Commission recommends changes to the Charter?

Commission members will present recommendations to the City Council. If recommendations require voter approval, they can be referred to the ballot. Administrative changes can be made without voter approval.

Recommendations from the Commission that have the support of 15 members, or more, are referred to the ballot for Portlanders to vote on by the City Council. Recommendations from the Commission that have support of 14 members, but not 15 can be referred by the City Council. In addition, the City Council can refer amendments to the charter to the voters.  

What is the timeline for the Charter review process?

The Charter Commission was appointed in December 2020 and started organizing their review process in early 2021. Charter Commission members are appointed to two-year terms. In July 2021, Commissioners voted and approved to approach charter review in phases, one and two. Commissioners will start phase one with two concurrent subcommittees, Form of Government and City Council Elections, and then move onto phase two, which will include additional committees on topics to be determined.

Phase one will begin in August 2021 and phase two will begin in early 2022. Phase one anticipates referring charter amendments to the ballot in June of 2022 for Portlanders to vote on the November 2022 ballot. Phase two anticipates referring a second set of charter amendments to the ballot in December 2022 and having charter amendments on a future ballot for Portlanders to vote.

How are you working to ensure that the process is open and accessible to the public?

All Charter Commission meetings are open to the public. We take notes and record all our meetings, recordings and meeting summaries are posted on the website for viewing. At full commission meetings we have closed captioning, American sign language and Spanish interpretation. All the full commission meetings we have time allocated for verbal public comments. We also take public comment via email and through our online comment form, please check out the Community Engagement section of the website to learn more.  If there are other ways we can help you more fully participate in this process or would like to provide feedback, please contact Julia Meier at Julia.Meier@portlandoregon.gov.

Will this process be affected by the COVID-19 crisis?

The impact of the COVID-19 crisis will be felt by our city for years, and it is hard to predict when we will return to normal operations. Despite the barriers the COVID-19 crisis might present, the City of Portland is committed to providing the Charter Commission with the resources necessary to engage the community and make meaningful recommendations for the way the City does business.

Here are some of the changes City Council will enact to ensure community members are safe and supported during the pandemic and its aftermath:

  • Hold Commission meetings virtually. If members prefer to meet in person, the City of Portland will provide a space that allows for Commission members to maintain physical distance.
  • Provide a stipend of $500 to Commission members every fiscal year in lieu of childcare, transportation and food that would have been provided under regular circumstances.

What happened with the last Charter Commission?

In December 2011, the previous Charter Commission voted to submit nine housekeeping amendments to the voters at the May 2012 Primary Election. You can read their report to Council below.

Read the Portland Charter

Review the City Charter as we consider possible updates for the future.

Meet Your Commissioners

Amira Streeter

A Black woman with dark hair and eyes smiles at the camera. She is wearing a black sweater with a white collared shirt underneath.

Amira is a millennial Black-American woman with extensive experience in government policy, collaborative problem solving, and community empowerment. As a member of Governor Brown’s staff, she serves as the Natural Resources Policy Advisor. Her policy portfolio includes sustainability and environmental justice. Before working for Governor Brown, Amira has built her career in the private and non-profit sectors and several levels of government, including city government and the legislative branch of the state. A transplant from Maryland, she moved to Portland to earn a J.D. and a Certificate in Environmental and Natural Resources Law from Lewis & Clark Law School. She has been a proud Portlander for 10 years. 

Personal Fact

My favorite thing to do on a rainy day is to curl up with a good book, a warm cup of tea and my dog. 

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

"What interests me about serving on the Commission is the potential to create historical change.  We are at a pivotal moment in history and I am most excited about serving the City in an impactful way to shape Portland for myself, my community, and future generations."


Andrew Speer

A Black man with dark eyes and black rimmed glasses smiles at the camera. He has little hair on his head and is clean shaven. He is wearing a dark blue blazer and a light blue shirt.

Andrew is a long time Parkrose resident and lives in the Argay Terrace neighborhood with his wife and two children. He was raised in the Portland metro area and is one of six children. From 2000-2004, he served in the U.S. Marine Corps as an infantryman and deployed twice during his service. Professionally, Andrew works in local government affairs for a local electric utility. Andrew is also very active in his community, serving on multiple boards and committees, and in 2019 was elected to the Mt. Hood Community College board of education where he represents outer East Portland on the board. He holds a Bachelor and Master of Science in Economics from Portland State University.

Personal Fact

I love the outdoors, working in the yard, hiking, and running. I also love to work on home improvement projects and updating my mid-century 1960’s home.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

"I want to bring my diverse lived experience and passion for equitable outcomes onto the committee as lenses for how to consider and structure city leadership. I also want to ensure a voice and representation for outer East Portland on the Commission."


Angela Jones

Angela Jones, Portland Charter Commission

Angela was raised in the Columbia River Gorge in a tiny town called Corbett. Her family lived along the Columbia River. They were fishermen and educators. After studying journalism at the University of Oregon, Angela moved to Portland to begin a career in advertising. Her career took her to San Francisco, Los Angeles and Sydney, Australia before bringing her back to Portland. Angela came back to Portland with two girls and an Australian husband. Today her family lives in East Portland with four mini schnauzers. She still works in advertising and owns a bar and music venue called The Big Legrowlski in the Pearl District. ​

Personal Fact

We spend as much time as possible skiing Timberline and eating at delicious restaurants in Portland. 

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

I want to be part of setting up this city to thrive in the future and for the good of all the people of Portland.​


Anthony Castaneda

A white man wearing a gray sweater smiles at the camera.

Anthony is a first-generation Mexican-American, who was born and raised in Oregon. He moved to Portland a decade ago and quickly fell in love with the city, though often misses his small town and surrounding fields of crops. Anthony is currently the Policy Manager at a local non-profit serving children, youth, and families in the Portland metro. He holds a dual BA in Russian and Political Science from Portland State University and a joint MPP/MA from the University of Michigan. 

Personal Fact

I enjoy large family gatherings and chasing around my nephews and nieces.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

"My interest stems from my passion for public service and a commitment to equity and inclusion." 


Becca Uherbelau

A tan woman with long dark hair smiles at the camera. Portland's convention center can be seen in the background.

Becca Uherbelau currently serves as the Executive Director of Our Oregon, leading the organization’s work to advance social and economic justice with a focus on ballot measures. Before directing Our Oregon, Becca was the Community Relations Manager for Metro, leading the engagement and community partnership strategy to develop and implement the agency’s racial equity strategy. Becca has been working in community and public service, grassroots advocacy and politics for over two decades. She has worked for local, legislative and statewide elected officials, advocacy and community-based non-profits and has spearheaded statewide ballot measure, local levy and candidate campaigns. Becca has served on the boards of Planned Parenthood Advocates of Oregon, the Oregon State Board of Nursing, New Leadership Oregon and the Oregon League of Minority Voters. In all of her work, she seeks to dismantle systems of oppression, build power in communities and advance racial and gender equity. Becca grew up in a small Southern Oregon town and has lived in Portland since 1994 - residing in the lower Eliot, Sabin and King neighborhoods of NE Portland for nearly 20 years. Her children attend their neighborhood schools, Sabin Elementary and Grant High School.

Personal Fact

Some of my favorite things to do are to listen to live music, enjoy someone else’s expert cooking and compete in family dance-offs. I am also obsessed - much to my family’s chagrin - with holiday-themed movies and obscenely-early seasonal decorating.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

My interest in serving on the commission centers around making decision-making at the City more accessible and accountable to all Portlanders and more representative - demographically, geographically and in terms of lived experience - of the city's population. I am also deeply interested in making the charter review process open, transparent and accessible to all Portlanders.


Brenda Ketah

Brenda

Brenda is the Executive Director of the Home Builders Foundation-HomeAid Portland where she started in 2011. HomeAid’s mission is to help people experiencing or at risk of homelessness build new lives through construction, community engagement and education. Brenda serves on the Board of HomeAid America and as a representative on the Chapter Advisory Council. Brenda’s community involvement outside of workhas focused on work in her local neighborhood and local schools, serving as a Vice President on the Portland Council PTA Board of Directors, and starting, implementing and maintaining a food backpack program for students facing food insecurity at two low-income schools. Brenda was honored for her work and dedication to families and students with the prestigious Oregon PTA Lifetime Achievement Award. Brenda is originally from Alaska and has lived in the Portland area for over 20 years. She and her partner Dave have been married for 29 years, have three kids and enjoy hanging out with their neighbors in North Portland.

Personal Fact

I grew up in Alaska and love hiking, backpacking, camping, skiing, snowshoeing and cycling.  

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

I am excited to participate in a process that considers what government structure will help Portland become a more equitable community.


Bryan William Lewis

A black man with dark hair and red shirt smiles at the camera.

Bryan was born in Portland and has been working to empower communities since he was thirteen years old. Bryan served on the Multnomah Youth Commission for nine years, and was a Commissioner serving on the Executive Board of the Commission on Children, Families and Community of Multnomah County as well as serving on the Executive Committee of Take the Time. In his youth, he did a lot of student and campus organizing. He is a member of the NAACP Portland, Oregon chapter, a Precinct Committee Person for the Multnomah County Democratic Party and is President for the national nonprofit Community Rights US. Bryan is a former union organizer with the following organizations: SEIU local 503 and 49, a member of Communication Workers of American, local 7901; and member of the National Popular Vote Oregon. Bryan is interested in how new and emerging social movements can collaborate for a more just and peaceful world.

Personal Fact

I am an artist and aspiring if not wannabe surfer.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

I want to serve as a Charter Commissioner to empower and embolden citizens of Portland to help make our document and government a tool for our collective betterment.


Candace Avalos

A Black woman with dark curly hair smiles at the camera. The background behind her is blurred while she's in focus.

Candace Avalos (she/her) is a first generation American Blacktina, daughter of Guatemalan immigrants & Black Virginians from the south. After receiving her Masters of Education in Higher Education Administration from JMU, she moved to Portland in 2013 to work at PSU advising Student Government & Greek Life. As Chair of the Citizen Review Committee and serving on the Governor's Public Safety Training and Standards Task Force, she works to bring transparency and accountability to Portland Police. A co-founder of the Black Millennial Movement, she shows up for the community in a variety of ways, including as a board member for Portland: Neighbors Welcome and a communication coordinator for the Oregon Kickball Club board. She currently lives in NE Portland.

Personal Fact 

I love perfecting my skills in the kitchen from tricks I learn through various cooking shows I watch like Top Chef, Hell's Kitchen, Master Chef, Cutthroat Kitchen, Chopped, etc.—and my favorite celebrity chef is Gordon Ramsay! 

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

Our archaic system of government, rooted in Jim Crow-era segregation, has created a lack of consistency and long-term strategic planning to address the most pressing problems facing our communities. I want to help lead an effort to bring all Portlanders to the table to envision a city charter that best serves our unique needs as a city.


Dave Galat

A white man with light colored eyes and glasses looks off to the side of the camera.

Dave was born and raised in Portland, Oregon. He attended Cleveland High School and studied German and English Literature at the University of Oregon. After college he moved to San Francisco, living in the Bay Area for roughly 20 years. During that time (1996) Dave was in an accident that resulted in a spinal cord injury. Since then his career has been focused on navigating accessibility and inclusion for people with disabilities as related to public entities. In 2014 Dave moved back to Portland to raise his family and start work with the City of Portland as an ADA Coordinator. He has two young children and lives in southeast Portland.

Personal Fact

I love the Pacific Northwest and try to get out as much as possible with my family and friends to take advantage of our nature, history, culture, and food.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission? 

I am excited to be a part of the Charter Commission because I know the value of having voices heard from all corners of our community will enhance the work that the City does to make Portland a truly inclusive city for everyone.


Debbie Kitchin

A white woman with light colored hair and dark rimmed glasses smiles directly at the camera. She is wearing a grey suit and  is against a grey background.

Debbie Kitchin is a Principal of InterWorks, L.L.C., a general contractor specializing in commercial tenant improvement and renovation and residential remodeling since 1994. InterWorks is an award-winning contractor with expertise in sustainable building practices. Prior to joining the family business in 1996, Debbie was a regional economist for 18 years, mostly at the Northwest Power Planning Council. Debbie serves as Immediate Past President of the Board of Directors of the Central Eastside Industrial Council and a member of the Board of Directors of Greater Portland Inc. She served as Chair and Member of the Board of Directors of the Energy Trust of Oregon (member for 16 years). She is Chair Emeritus of the Portland Business Alliance. Debbie was awarded the 2017 William S. Naito Outstanding Service Award and the 2015 DJC Women of Vision Award. Debbie has a B.A. in Economics from Reed College and the MBA from Portland State University.

Personal Fact

I love living in the beautiful Pacific Northwest and enjoy many outdoor activities including skiing, soccer, boogie boarding, golf and hiking. 

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

It is important to have a form of government that promotes equitable representation for all members of our community. As the primary provider of services that all Portlanders rely on, our city needs a governmental structure that facilitates efficient and effective delivery of services.


Debra Porta

A grey, short haired woman with small red glasses smiles at the camera.

Debra has been a resident of Portland for over twenty years, moving here from Texas in 1997. After a career in restaurant management and customer service, Debra returned to college at 36, ultimately receiving a Master’s Degree in Public Administration with a Specialization in Nonprofit Management. In addition to serving as Executive Director for a local LGBTQ+ nonprofit organization, Debra supports and advises a variety of small and emerging nonprofits and community organizations. Actively engaged in the LGBTQ+ community, Debra and her wife of seven years live in North Portland.

Personal Fact

I am a life-long collector of recipes, and I love to cook for other people.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

I want to serve on the Charter Commission to help ensure a variety of diverse voices are actively included in the process. I also want to help “demystify” these kinds of processes and engage people in their own governance structures.


Hanna Osman

A Black woman with a dark al-amira and bright eyeshadow smiles at the camera. She is outside, with dark trees behind her.

Hanna Osman is an Assistant Planner with the City of Portland's Bureau of Planning and Sustainability, with a background in Public Health. Her work on the West Portland Town Center Plan includes stewarding an inclusive community engagement process and applying a health equity lens to a major community planning project. Her interests include racial equity, health equity, social justice, community engagement, social determinant of health and mobility justice. She values her time with her family, friends and community. As a board member of the Somali Empowerment Circle, a small grassroots organization, she has co-created a housing advocacy toolkit that is culturally specific to the Somali community in Oregon in hopes of improving civic engagement in her community so that they are brought to the table when important housing policies are being discussed and implemented. As she moves forward professionally, she is actively discovering ways to bring her public health lens into the urban planning world, especially on how to use public health frameworks that lay the foundation to a healthier community. In all, Hanna is an aspiring leader that is building on the work of current and past leaders.

Personal Fact

I enjoy spending time with my loved ones, my cats and giving back to my community through my volunteerism with the Somali Empowerment Circle. 

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

I want to serve on the Charter Commission because I want to learn the ways I can impact the city and its future. Looking at our current City Charter, there can be gaps or inequities, which can give us the opportunity to improve amendments and create recommendations that can strengthen the Charter. I also want to be able to engage with the public in a manner that supports and speaks to them, because as a City, we support our communities. If I am able to do this, I would accomplish many goals, especially the ones that are driven by humility and opportunities to give back to my community in a way that is unique. 


Karol Collymore

A Black woman with short dark hair, wearing a leopard print jacket, large white flower, and white sneakers, stands beside a colorful mural. With one hand on her hip, she smiles at the camera.

Karol Collymore is the Inclusive Community portfolio director for Social & Community Impact at Nike. Previous to Nike, she worked for Metro, the Early Learning Division at the State of Oregon, and the Equity Foundation. She has worked in government, politics and non-profits for over 15 years. Karol is also the current board president at Cascade AIDS Project and on the board of the Portland Trail Blazers Foundation.

Personal Fact

I love so many things about Portland but one of the things I love best is going to Blazers games!

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission? 

I believe in the work of government and the role our community’s citizens play in the outcomes. I look forward to working with the commission to continue to improve the way our city works and ensure it works everyone.


Melanie Billings-Yun

A white woman with short blond hair sits at a table. She is wearing a dark suit which contrasts against the white tablecloth and light colored background.

Melanie (PhD, Harvard) is an international negotiation consultant, mediator and an adjunct professor in the PSU Business School. Born in Portland, she has lived in nine countries and worked throughout Asia, North America, Europe and the Middle East, helping individuals and organizations resolve disputes, bridge cultural differences, and build more productive relationships. Throughout her career Melanie has worked to help women amplify their voices, the topic of her 2015 Ted-X talk in Malaysia. She is the author of Beyond Dealmaking: Five Steps to Negotiating Profitable Relationships.

Personal Fact

I am an avid walker and feel that no day is complete unless I spend part of it in one of our wonderful Portland forests.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission? 

I would like to help realign the city charter so that all Portlanders feel that they have a voice and that their voice matters. Specifically, I would like to see an efficient and responsive government that serves all neighborhoods equally and is answerable to our diverse residents.


Raahi Reddy

A tan woman with dark  hair smiles at the camera. She is wearing bright eye shadow and bright blue earrings while standing in front of a wooden background.

Raahi Reddy has over 25 years of experience working at the intersections of racial justice, gender justice, environmental equity, economic development, and labor issues. She is a skilled coalition builder and effective strategic wrangler of researchers, policy advocates, trainers, and communicators to produce durable community impact. Raahi currently serves as the Director of Metro's Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Program. Her team is responsible for helping Metro programs, investments and internal practices advance racial equity in the Portland-metro region. Prior to joining Metro, Raahi worked at the University of Oregon where she co-authored several groundbreaking reports on the experiences of low-wage working Oregonians including "The High Cost of Low Wages in Oregon.” She also led Basic Rights Oregon’s organizing program and spent over two decades in the labor movement. As a first-generation immigrant of South Asian descent, public service is central to Raahi living her values; she currently serves on the board of Family Forward Oregon and formerly served as board chair for the Asian Pacific American Network of Oregon (APANO). Raahi holds a master’s degree in Urban Planning from UCLA.

Personal Fact

The trees of Tabor are magical. Many days you can find my 2-year-old pup and me on a stroll-listening to birds, chasing squirrels (ok that’s him, not me) and taking in the views of this gorgeous city.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

The Charter Commission review will be a tremendous opportunity to assess and potentially reimagine the rules that undergird our City’s economy, political structures and how we operate as a city. I want to help City residents, especially the most disenfranchised, have access to this process, see themselves in  the future of Portland, and ultimately have a renewed sense of belonging in this place we call home.

Robin Ye

A Chinese American man with dark hair, wearing a grey suit and red and black tie smiles at the camera. The background behind him is a dark maroon color.

Robin Ye is a proud Chinese American who grew up in Beaverton, Oregon. He earned his bachelor’s degree in Public Policy and Human Rights from the University of Chicago. Robin is dedicated to the cause of electoral justice -- practices and policies to expand the vote-- to achieve greater representation in our democracy -- particularly for those living at the intersections of race, class, disability and gender. He most recently worked as Political Director at Oregon Futures Lab and spent three years at APANO (Asian Pacific American Network of Oregon) on political advocacy. In 2021, Robin will enter the Oregon State Legislature as Chief of Staff to Rep-elect. Khanh Pham, currently the only Asian American in the legislature. In his free time, Robin enjoys spending time with his cats and foster kittens, hiking and the outdoors, and cheering on his Portland Trail Blazers.

Personal Fact

There's no place better in Portland than at the Rose Garden (a.k.a Moda Center) watching Damian Lillard rain down threes from halfcourt. Welcome to Rip City, RoCo!

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission? 

The Charter Review Commission is a direct opportunity for an engaged, richly diverse, and accurately representative group of Portland community members, to shape their city and the values within its charter. I believe its greatest strength is that it is an independent body with ample time to consider reforms-- more insulated from the short-term whims of politicians.


Salome Chimuku

A Black woman with dark hair smiles at the camera. She is outside with trees and a building in the background.

Salomé Chimuku (she/her) is a first-generation Angolan-American. Salomé was born and raised in Portland and specializes in policy and equity work. Salomé attended Willamette University. She has worked as a staffer for many campaigns, elected leaders and organizations. Salomé alongside Cameron Whitten Co-Founded the Black Resilience Fund over the summer. Salomé speaks five languages and is also an award-winning artist. As a queer, disabled, immigrant woman Salomé joins the Charter Commission with the same devotion for transparency, accountability, accessibility and equity that she thinks is possible.

Personal Fact

I like to cosplay and have an all-black pit bull named Hercules.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission?

I am interested in serving on the Charter Commission to get Portland to walk its talk. Portland needs to be the accessible and equitable city it can be.


Steven Phan

An Asian man smiles at the camera. He is wearing a dark suit, with a red checkered tie, and is against a light background.

Steven was born in Portland and grew up in our beautiful city. He is a community advocate who works with underserved communities, through housing advocacy, working with populations of adults with disabilities and also volunteers with children who are experiencing grief. Steven’s lived experience of growing up in a low-income home with a single mom instilled the importance of a strong work ethic combined with the need for collaboration in our community to be successful together.  

Personal Fact

I love to take advantage of time on our own Mt. Hood, whether it is hiking, snowboarding or downhill mountain biking.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission? 

I am excited to serve on the Charter Commission because as a child of immigrants, person of color, and product of Portland, I strive to bring a perspective that can help make a different through representing myself and our community.


Vadim Mozyrsky

A white man wearing a grey suit smiles at the camera. He is sitting down in a yellow chair with his hand together.

Vadim Mozyrsky immigrated to the United States from Kiev, Ukraine. He graduated with a bachelor’s degree from the University of Texas and a juris doctorate degree from the University of Texas School of Law. After law school, he clerked for judges in state, federal and international courts. Before his current work in the field of disability law, he practiced corporate litigation and mediation. Vadim is active in the Portland community, focusing on disability and immigrant issues. He has served on several city commissions and committees, institutional advisory boards, and in community-based organizations. Currently he is on the steering committee for the Portland Committee on Community Engaged Policing and the Citizen Review Committee under the Auditor’s Independent Police Review division. He also serves on the board of directors for the Immigrant and Refugee Community Organization and the Public Safety Action Coalition. Vadim is a national union representative for IFPTE/Association of Administrative Law Judges. In his free time, he enjoys traveling and exploring the Pacific Northwest.

Personal Fact

Rain, snow or shine, my favorite place in Portland to idle away some free time is the Japanese Garden.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission? 

I seek to use my institutional knowledge, legal background, and community organization skills to spotlight and address the civic needs of Portland’s varied communities.


Yasmin Ibarra

A tan woman with long dark hair smiles at the camera. She is wearing a red checkered scarf and is against a dark background.

Yasmin Ibarra is the Political and Governmental Affairs Organizer for SEIU Local 49.  As a labor organizer, she lifts up the voices of members across Oregon, leads policy negotiations on issues impacting workers in our community and consults for local electoral campaigns. She has experience and background in political and community organizing. Yasmin moved from Hermiston to Monmouth where she was student body president at WOU and then worked her way up to Executive Director of the Oregon Student Association. It was through those roles that she developed a deep passion for education, social justice, and civic engagement. Since then she’s run and supported several political electoral campaigns in Oregon. These experiences showed her the power of individuals to address issues of racial and economic injustice. In all her work Yasmin has shown a commitment for helping people win real victories to improve their lives.

Personal Fact

In my spare time I enjoy cooking, learning how to play tennis and taking a bike ride around town.

Why are you excited to serve on the Charter Commission? 

It takes intentional engagement to make sure individuals can participate in the decisions for the City of Portland. There are barriers in our government structure that are not equitable, and I believe that changes to the Portland City Charter will ensure more perspectives are considered.