Most City offices closed Wednesday, June 19, to observe Juneteenth

The City of Portland recognizes Juneteenth as a formal day of remembrance to honor Black American history and the end of slavery in the United States. Learn about Juneteenth.



Appoint Keonna Ollison to the Police Accountability Commission


WHEREAS, on July 30, 2020, the Portland City Council voted to refer a Charter Amendment to the voters of Portland that would authorize the creation of a new police accountability and oversight system; and

WHEREAS, on November 3, 2020, Portland voters approved the new Charter Amendment (Charter 2-10) with 81.58% pf voters supporting the ballot measure; and

WHEREAS, the City Council authorized a 20-community member Commission to develop a recommendation to Council for the details of the structure and framework for the new accountability system; and

WHEREAS, Resolution 37527 mandated each Council member to select five people from four different groups: members of historically overpoliced communities, representatives of organizing providing support to overpoliced communities, representatives of community justice organizations, and small business representatives; and

WHEREAS, an appointee to the Police Accountability Commission, Zoe Sigman, resigned her seat; and

WHEREAS, the City conducted a robust application process for this commission, receiving over 100 applications for the original appointment and member replacement; and

WHEREAS, all City Council offices collaborated on the selection process for this Commission and agreed to its appointments:

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the City Council hereby appoints Keonna Ollison to serve on the Police Accountability Commission to fill the vacancy caused by Zoe Sigman's resignations; biography and statement of intent are attached hereto as Exhibit A.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that following this appointment, the community members on the Commission are:

Members of Overpoliced Communities: Faythe Aiken, Christian Orellana Bauer, Tirsa Orellana, May Saechao, Angie Tomlinson

Representatives of Organizations Serving Overpoliced Communities: Monica Arce, Alvin Joswick, Lovisa Lloyd, Jason Renaud, Winta Yohannes

Representatives of Community Justice Organizations: Debbie Aiona, Sophia Glenn, Dan Handelman, Seemab Hussaini, Charlie Michelle-Westley

Small Business: Eric Hunter, Katherine McDowell, Keonna Ollison, Eva Vega, Connie Wohn

Impact Statement

Purpose of Proposed Legislation and Background Information

The Police Accountability Commission is tasked with developing a new administrative investigation and discipline system for Portland police, including the development of a community police oversight board as described in City Charter Section 2-10. The PAC's term began December 9, 2021 and will continue for 18 months, or longer if extended by the City Council.

This resolution appoints one community member to serve for the remainder of the term of the Police Accountability Commission, replacing a member who have resigned, as the commission crafts the details of the new police oversight system. This is the sixth resolution (following resolutions 37527, 37548, 37547, 37569, and 37573) related to the Police Accountability Commission, and the fourth (following 37547, 37569, and 37573) appointing members to the commission.

Financial and Budgetary Impacts

There is no direct financial or budgetary impact related to this appointment.

Community Impacts and Community Involvement

  • All Portlanders may be impacted by the Police Accountability Commission’s work.
  • Code changes recommended by the Police Accountability Commission will be presented to the City Council beginning in 2023, and during the commission’s work as well as Council consideration, community members are anticipated to engage in the process.
  • This appointment was made from the initial applicant pool for the Police Accountability Commission, which included over 100 applications received during the open application process for this Commission that was conducted in 2021.

100% Renewable Goal

Although it is incorporated into the sustainable procurement policy, this specific resolution does not impact the city’s use of energy or pursuit of the 100% renewable goal.

Document History

Item 695 Regular Agenda in August 3, 2022 Council Agenda

City Council


  • Former Commissioner Jo Ann Hardesty Absent
  • Commissioner Mingus Mapps Yea
  • Commissioner Carmen Rubio Yea
  • Commissioner Dan Ryan Yea
  • Mayor Ted Wheeler Yea

Introduced by


Stephanie Howard

Mayor's Director of Community Safety

Mike Myers

Community Safety Transition Director

Police Accountability Commission Staff

Requested Agenda Type


Date and Time Information

Requested Council Date
Time Requested
35 minutes (2 of 3)