COVID-19 Safety, Recovery and Resilience

Face coverings are required in indoor public spaces and many outdoor spaces. State policy
Access City programs, people and projects helping Portland recover. Portland United

Volunteer. Play. Stay. Shop. Show the Rose City a little love. Here for Portland

Portfolios, Liaison Responsibilities and Bureau Directors

The Mayor and Commissioners serve as administrators of City departments, individually overseeing bureaus and carrying out policies approved by the Council. Bureau and liaison assignments are determined by the Mayor. Bureau directors are responsible for managing operations within their departments.
On this page

Ted Wheeler

Mayor, Commissioner of Finance and Administration
1221 SW 4th Ave, Room 340, 97204
(503) 823-4120

Bureau Portfolio

Liaison Responsibilities

  • Regional Disaster Policy Organization (with Commissioner Hardesty)
  • A Home For Everyone (with Commissioner Ryan)
  • Local Public Safety Coordinating Council (with Commissioner Hardesty)
  • Venture Portland
  • Workforce Development Board
  • Visitor Development Fund (with Commissioner Mapps)

Carmen Rubio

Commissioner of Public Utilities
Position Number 1
1221 SW 4th Ave, Room 220, 97204
(503) 823-3008

Bureau Portfolio

Liaison Responsibilities

  • Regional Arts and Culture Council
  • Pioneer Courthouse Square
  • Portland Parks Foundation
  • Portland’5 Centers for the Arts
  • League of Oregon Cities
  • Metro Policy Advisory Council
  • Mt. Hood Cable Regulatory Commission
  • Metropolitan Exposition Recreation Commission (MERC)

Dan Ryan

Commissioner of Public Works                             
Position Number 2                                      
1221 SW 4th Ave, Room 240, 97204
(503) 823-3589

Bureau Portfolio

Liaison Responsibilities

  • Rose Festival
  • Portland Children’s Levy
  • Home Forward
  • Multnomah County Animal Control
  • Multnomah Youth Commission
  • Royal Rosarians
  • A Home For Everyone (with Mayor Wheeler)

Jo Ann Hardesty

Commissioner of Public Affairs                             
Position Number 3                                      
1221 SW 4th Ave, Room 230, 97204
(503) 823-4151

Bureau Portfolio

Liaison Responsibilities

  • Portland Mall Management, Inc.
  • Portland Aerial Tram Board
  • Portland Streetcar, Inc.
  • Joint Policy Advisory Committee on Transportation
  • Local Public Safety Coordinating Council (with Mayor Wheeler)
  • Regional Disaster Policy Organization (with Mayor Wheeler)
  • Fair & Moral Claims Committee (with Commissioner Mapps)
  • The Gateway Center
  • East Portland Action Plan

Mingus Mapps

Commissioner of Public Safety
Position Number 4
1221 SW 4th Ave, Room 210, 97204
(503) 823-4682

Bureau Portfolio

Liaison Responsibilities

  • Travel Portland
  • Portland Film Office
  • Visitor Development Fund Board (with Mayor Wheeler)
  • Metropolitan Exposition and Recreation Commission
  • BOEC User Board
  • Fair & Moral Claims Committee (with Commissioner Hardesty)

Mary Hull Caballero

Auditor of the City of Portland
1221 SW 4th Ave, Room 140, 97204
(503) 823-4078


Bureau Directors

Bureau of Development Services | Rebecca Esau
Bureau of Emergency Communications | Bob Cozzie
Bureau of Emergency Management | Jonna Papaefthimiou, Interim
Bureau of Environmental Services | Michael Jordan
Bureau of Human Resources | Cathy Bless
Bureau of Planning & Sustainability | Andrea Durbin
Bureau of Police | Charles Lovell, Chief
Bureau of Revenue & Financial Services – Chief Financial Officer | Michelle Kirby
Bureau of Technology Services | Jeff Baer
Bureau of Transportation | Chris Warner
City Attorney | Robert Taylor
City Budget Office | Jessica Kinard
Fire & Police Disability and Retirement | Samuel Hutchison
Office for Community Technology | Elisabeth Perez
Office of Equity and Human Rights | Markisha Webster
Office of Government Relations | Briannon Fraley
Office of Mgmt & Finance – Chief Administrative Officer | Tom Rinehart
Office of Mgmt & Finance – Chief Procurement Officer | Biko Taylor
Office of Community & Civic Life | Michael Montoya, Interim
Prosper Portland (formerly, Portland Development Commission) | Kimberly Branam
Portland Fire & Rescue | Sara Boone, Chief
Portland Housing Bureau | Shannon Callahan
Portland Parks & Recreation | Adena Long
Revenue Director | Thomas Lannom
Water Bureau | Gabriel Solmer

Updated 8/31/21